Education

Important Information

Our number one member request is for information about upcoming continuing education opportunities. Below are links and useful information to educational opportunities, journals and websites that may help one gain valuable continuing education credits required to maintain Dental Hygiene licensure. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to contact us.

State Licensure Requirements

State of Massachusetts Rules and Regulations

Continuing Education Requirements for Dental Hygiene Licensure in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts – Continuing Education Requirements for Dental Hygiene Licensure in the Commonwealth Dental hygienists must have proof of a minimum of 20 hours of continuing education that has significant intellectual or practical content which deals primarily with matters directly related to the practice of dentistry or dental auxiliary functions or with the professional or ethical responsibilities and obligations of licensees. A Dental hygienist seeking renewal of his/her license to practice in the Commonwealth must complete a minimum of 20 CEU’s per renewal cycle. This requirement must be fulfilled during the 24 months immediately preceding the March 31 renewal date in odd numbered years. (234 CMR 8.00)

State of Rhode Island Rules and Regulations

Continuing Education Requirements for Dental Hygiene Licensure in the State of Rhode Island – Pursuant to the provisions of section 5-31.1-7 of the Act, all dental hygienists licensed to practice in this state under the provisions of the Act and the regulations herein, shall,on or before the first day of May of each even-numbered year maintain evidence that in the preceding two (2) years he or she has satisfactorily completed at least twenty (20) hours of continuing education courses relevant to the practice of dental hygiene,according to the criteria established by the Rhode Island Dental Hygienists Association and approved by the Board. Continuing education requirements cited herein shall be prorated for a licensee whose license is in effect for a period of less than two (2) years(i.e., an average of ten (10) hours of continuing education shall be required each year the license is in effect).